Logo for: Horizons National

Horizons National Honors Kim Avington with 2023 Horizons Leadership Award

Albuquerque, NM – Kim Avington, Executive Director of Horizons at the University School of Nashville (USN) has been named as one of two recipients of the 2023 Horizons Leadership Award. This award recognizes a Horizons Director who contributes in special ways to their affiliate and the Horizons Network as a whole, and who embodies the spirit of Horizons.

Kim is a founding staff member of Horizons at USN, having joined the program in 2014. Kim runs a high-quality, financially sustainable Horizons program, while also teaching 4th grade full-time at USN. She is is best known for creating a space where her staff can be the best versions of themselves, allowing the program to thrive and students to excel. Kim consistently gives support to the Horizons Network by offering ideas in ED emails, participating in program planning calls, and being a veteran voice of insight for new Directors. Under her leadership, Horizons at USN continues to thrive and welcome more students and families each year. 

Over the years, Kim has demonstrated an exceptional ability to connect with children from all walks of life, helping them build confidence, develop new skills, and discover their unique talents. Through her hard work and dedication, Kim has helped to create a safe and nurturing environment where children can thrive and grow.

- Sam Jackson, Board Member, Horizons at USN

The Horizons Leadership Awards were presented at the Annual Dinner celebration during Horizons National’s 2023 Annual Conference, which convenes Horizons program leaders, teachers, and board members from more than 70 Horizons programs in 20 states.

Other awards presented at the conference include:

  • Francie Irvine, Board Chair, Horizons at the Foote School was presented with the Andrew Clarkson Award, honoring an individual for their longevity of commitment, embodiment of the Horizons mission, and work that can be leveraged across the Horizons Network
  • Matt Azzaro, Horizons Greater Washington; Erin Doyle, Horizons at Westminster; Crystal Meashey, Horizons at Lancaster Country Day School; and Mary O’Shea, Horizons Atlanta at Georgia Technical College were presented with the Lyn McNaught Teacher Award, honoring educators who have excelled in Horizons classrooms by providing exemplary opportunities for our youth
  • Billy Handmaker, Neal Piltch, Nancy Klion, and Juaquin Moya were presented with the 2023 Horizons Spark Award, recognizing those who contribute in extraordinary and sometimes unexpected ways to the Horizons National Network
  • Mike DiMarco, Executive Director of Horizons Greater Washington was also presented with a 2023 Horizons Leadership Award