Logo for: Horizons National

Horizons National Honors Mike DiMarco with 2023 Horizons Leadership Award

Albuquerque, NM – Mike DiMarco, Executive Director of Horizons Greater Washington has been named as one of two recipients of the 2023 Horizons Leadership Award. This award recognizes a Horizons Director who contributes in special ways to their affiliate and the Horizons Network as a whole, and who embodies the spirit of Horizons.

Mike started with Horizons in 2020, but has long been an advocate for the program and out-of-school time learning. At Horizons Greater Washington, he leads 3 sites spanning two states, with plans to expand to reach more students and families. Mike has been a strong contributor to the Horizons Network, and consistently supports his fellow Directors by sharing examples, participating in working groups, and even opening up Horizons Greater Washington events to other Horizons students in the Network. Mike also shares thoughtful, constructive feedback with Horizons National, supporting the organization’s efforts toward continuous improvement.

The Horizons Leadership Awards were presented at the Annual Dinner celebration during Horizons National’s 2023 Annual Conference, which convenes Horizons program leaders, teachers, and board members from more than 70 Horizons programs in 20 states.

Other awards presented at the conference include:

  • Francie Irvine, Board Chair, Horizons at the Foote School was presented with the Andrew Clarkson Award, honoring an individual for their longevity of commitment, embodiment of the Horizons mission, and work that can be leveraged across the Horizons Network
  • Matt Azzaro, Horizons Greater Washington; Erin Doyle, Horizons at Westminster School; Crystal Meashey, Horizons at Lancaster Country Day School; and Mary O’Shea, Horizons Atlanta at Georgia Technical College were presented with the Lyn McNaught Teacher Award, honoring educators who have excelled in Horizons classrooms by providing exemplary opportunities for our youth
  • Billy Handmaker, Neal Piltch, Nancy Klion, and Juaquin Moya were presented with the 2023 Horizons Spark Award, recognizing those who contribute in extraordinary and sometimes unexpected ways to the Horizons National Network
  • Kim Avington, Executive Director of Horizons at the University School of Nashville was also presented with a 2023 Horizons Leadership Award